2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
56 members (Aleks_MG, accordeur, brdwyguy, Carey, AlkansBookcase, 20/20 Vision, 36251, benkeys, 9 invisible), 2,042 guests, and 334 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
1000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
1000 Post Club Member
After years of struggling and thanks to taking up the recorder I am finally starting to read music. At least the treble stave anyway...
My background is in playing by ear-I've always been able to hear a piece of music and then play the melody,tho not always in the original key. But there's one area in which I'm weak, and that is in the ability to read a note and hear that note in my head.
For example I might play a piece of music from a sheet, translating what I see into a played note, but if I look at a random sheet and see the notes in my head, I don't hear that note. I can see that that note is a C and the next one is a D but if I try to sing it to myself I dont recognise the piece-it doesn't make sense. I'm not singing a C and a D. In fact I tried this earlier after playing Ode to Joy from a sheet. I could play it, even the left hand, great. But later I looked at the sheet and I couldn't hear the notes in my head. Its like I'm singing in the wrong key and it sounds off! And yet, now that I've thought of Ode to Joy I can hear the melody in my head. Weird.
So how does one learn to hear the notes that one reads? What is that skill called?

If the piano is the King of instruments then I am its loyal servant.
My blog:
https://mymusictree.blogspot.com/

Currently on Barratt Classic Piano Course book 1
Casio AP450

My Facebook Piano Group