2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
70 members (AlkansBookcase, AndyOnThePiano2, Charles Cohen, BillS728, 36251, anotherscott, Bellyman, 11 invisible), 2,109 guests, and 312 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
E
EPMD Offline OP
OP Offline
E
I started playing this year, and I have been working through Alfred's Beginner book. Things went very smoothly up until some hand independence was required. I like the book, but I feel they didn't provide enough guidance or exercises to develop hand independence.

So how did you gain hand independence, or how are you working on achieving it? I know practice is required, but were there specific exercises you found beneficial? Just playing pieces that demand independence isn't really working for me. I feel like I need to learn this in smaller steps in order to keep the positive momentum. As is, I just feel stuck/frustrated.

Thanks for your help.

F
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
F
I don't know if there are any specific exercises. If there are, I haven't come across them.

Just play one measure or even just two notes at a time. Play the left hand part. Play the right hand part. Try playing both together. As slowly and as many times as is required.

Plink Plink. Right. Plonk Plonk. Left. Plink-plonk plink-plonk. And there you go.

For me, it just kind of eventually comes together.

Come to think of it, that's how I learn to play everything. Though I do a line or so at a time rather than a single measure these days.

But I'm certainly no kind of an expert, either.

If you're a zombie and you know it, bite your friend!