2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
48 members (Dalem01, Cheeeeee, danno858, CharlesXX, Aleks_MG, accordeur, brdwyguy, Dfrankjazz, Carey, 7 invisible), 2,075 guests, and 323 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 4 1 2 3 4
fatar760 #2581643 10/25/16 04:55 PM
G
6000 Post Club Member
6000 Post Club Member
G
To start with: as a player I am interested in anything that sounds good to me, and that continually changes over time.

As a teacher I am interested in what works for my students. Some of the ideas here are never going to be understood by any student I have ever taught.

So what usually happens is that such a discussion becomes very insular, sort of like the converted talking to the converted. wink

I would always prefer seeing what we are talking about in notation, because I have a lot of trouble unscrambling a bunch of letters.

fatar760 #2581648 10/25/16 05:18 PM
K
K

I read the OP as seeking encouragement to move away from block-chord imaging towards scale areas and can heartily recommend doing so without delay.