2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
56 members (36251, 1200s, benkeys, 20/20 Vision, anotherscott, bcalvanese, 1957, beeboss, 7sheji, 11 invisible), 1,517 guests, and 325 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
F
Falsch Offline OP
500 Post Club Member
OP Offline
500 Post Club Member
F
Hi smile

As I'm an adult beginner on the piano (but with some classical training at the organ as a kid), I'm going through Alfred's Adult All-in-One Piano Course, books 1-3.

After four years of classical organ I estimate that I reached ABRSM leel 4, maybe 5 (with regard to piece difficulty), after comparing organ pieces I played back then to exam pieces in the current ABRSM piano syllabus.

However, Alfred's AiO 3 has Bach's Toccata in D minor in it, and Moonlight Sonata. I played the first in my fourth year, but to be honest, it was above my level. I could play it, but by the skin of my teeth. Never played the ML Sonata on organ. (Don't know if it's even possible to do well.)

To which ABRSM levels can the Alfred books be compared? I can't believe the Toccata and Moonlight are below level 5, maybe even 6, but I also don't believe the Alfred books go up to level 5-6.

Last edited by Falsch; 11/07/16 10:58 AM.

Kawai Novus NV-10 | Pianoteq 7
(Kremsegg 1 & 2, Ruckers II, Karsten, KIVIR, Steinway D, K2)
Intel NUC J5040, 8GB, SSD | iPad Pro 12.9 2018 | forScore
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member