2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
64 members (Animisha, aphexdisklavier, benkeys, 1200s, akse0435, AlkansBookcase, Alex Hutor, AndyOnThePiano2, amc252, 11 invisible), 1,855 guests, and 264 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
B
OP Offline
B
Hello. First time poster here. Please be kind.

I am a 50+ year old pianist, having played daily, but not professionally all my adult life. My main interests musically are jazz and improvisational music, tho' I spend some time everyday playing some Bach.

Over the years, I have played the Hanon exercises a great deal. Recently for a change, I started playing some of the Czerny School of Velocity. Now I am asking for suggestions of how to use this set of exercises in my practice.

When I have warmed up some, I can play the first Czerny exercise at a tempo of quarters = 110-120 bpm, roughly half of the notated tempo. When warmed up, I can play the second exercise at roughly quarters = 90-100 bpm. In other words, I can only play these exercises very slowly if I want accurate execution.

So one question: is it better to work on one exercise to maximize the tempo, or is it better to play a wider variety of the exercises at slower tempos?

Another question: given my complete lack of velocity - presumably due to weak technique and training - would it be better for me to spend more time with Hanon?

Vid Offline
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
Do you have a teacher?