2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
53 members (Aylin, Barly, brdwyguy, bcalvanese, accordeur, 36251, Bostonmoores, 20/20 Vision, Adam Reynolds, 1200s, 5 invisible), 1,335 guests, and 320 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#2592260 12/04/16 11:50 PM
~
~Ryan Offline OP
OP Offline
~
I've frequented the forum and finally decided to registered and in search of some advice...

I'm 45, until 2 years ago I never played an instrument and could not read music. Inspired by a new to us Yamaha G2 and the wonderful sound it makes (my dtr. plays) I started learning to play with the Joy tunes iPad app. After several months I decided to study weekly with the same teacher my daughter has.

My teacher is in her early 20s, recent college grad with a music major (I'm likely her only adult student). It's been over a year taking lessons and I'm starting to wonder if I need to make a switch, but wanted some feedback as to what I should expect from and how to find a good teacher.

Currently she selects most of the music, much of which I enjoy, but lessons are little more than me playing what I've been working on, while she points out incorrect notes/rhythm etc. I ask lots of questions, about theory, practice strategies, but in general if I don't ask questions, I get little more than feedback on what I just played. While it's certainly helpful, I've been leaving lessons a bit discouraged in recent months. More and more I'm feeling like I'm directing the lesson and my progress in general . I'd really like someone to offer more guidance, encouragement, help me come up with goals, and push me to reach them.