2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
62 members (BillS728, 36251, anotherscott, Bellyman, Carey, brennbaer, busa, 10 invisible), 2,107 guests, and 300 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Shinobi Offline OP
OP Offline
[b][/b]Hello everybody, I am new here. I would appreciate very much if someone tell me where can I find those piano scales in "Russian Pattern". I studied piano in the Conservatory of my country with a russian teacher who taught me to play those scales in Russian Pattern, buy I learned them by imitating my teacher; never saw those scales written down on paper or in a piano technique book. Can anybody tell me in what books can I find them?

C
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
C
Can you describe the scales in any more detail?

"I was obliged to be industrious. Whoever is equally industrious will succeed equally well."

J.S. Bach
Gold Subscriber
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Gold Subscriber
"Russian" or "formula" pattern scale (four octaves):

[Linked Image]

In simplest terms, it's a combination of parallel and contrary motion scales, with the parallel and contrary alternating every two octaves until the starting point is reached.

It's really quite elegant!

Regards,

BruceD
- - - - -
Estonia 190
3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
If you know a standard one-octave fingering for the scale, you don't need to know any other fingerings for the formula pattern. Just keep the same fingering and go up, apart, together, up; down, apart, together, down.

Heather Reichgott, piano

Working on:
Mel (Mélanie) Bonis - Sevillana, La cathédrale blessée