2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
24 members (johnesp, drumour, Hakki, crab89, EVC2017, clothearednincompo, APianistHasNoName, JohnCW, 7 invisible), 1,251 guests, and 293 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 42 of 54 1 2 40 41 42 43 44 53 54
I
I
Hi, I'm Frank. Born and raised in Ireland, living in the US for longer than that. I'm a scientist by day, took piano lessons from age 11 to about 21. Haven't had a piano since leaving home after college. Since then, detoured away from piano repertoire to flute (classical and Irish) and eventually to pipes (Irish/uilleann). But my daughter's been taking lessons for about six months on a little 5-octave keyboard I've had since grad school, which is why I bought a Kawai K-500 last month, and I've been loving it! Dusted off my old books (Joplin, Beethoven, Mozart, Chopin, Field - pretty orthodox stuff), found stuff I've enjoyed for a long time but never thought to play myself on piano (thanks Paul Barton for your arrangement of Simon Jeffe's Perpetuum Mobile!), as well as stuff that's completely new. I feel like a kind of Rip van Winkle, waking up after a very long sleep!

Once I'm over this honeymoon period (flitting from old to new and back), I'd like to really knuckle down and *memorize* pieces. This was my big regret from my decade of studying piano - my teachers always discouraged playing without the notes in front of me, so I never learned to play from memory. I can play hundreds of Irish jigs/reels/airs from memory, even after months of not playing them, so I know my memory's working fine. I just need to focus it on the keyboard!