2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
41 members (busa, clothearednincompo, Doug M., 36251, Davidnewmind, Dfrankjazz, brdwyguy, benkeys, Burkhard, 5 invisible), 1,125 guests, and 256 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#30272 05/19/08 12:13 PM
A
OP Offline
A
Hiya,

I'm looking to buy my first piano - an upright, preferably in the $3500-$4500 range. I'm not a pro but I've played for most of my life and studied under a couple local pros. So I'm probably a step up from 'student' but won't be playing Carnegie hall anytime soon.

I've been looking through a wealth of information about purchasing used pianos, some of which seems to emphasize that a well-maintained, used piano is not going to go for much less than a new one since pianos don't depreciate. Still, it's tempting, because Craigslist is full of pianos around here and I don't have quite enough cash on hand to really buy the good stuff.

My question is: if you were me, where would you start your search in the NYC area? Any good dealers with used stock you liked? Good/bad experiences with private sales? Tips other than 'bring a tuner along' (which sounds like a good idea)?

Thanks in advance!
Sam

I'd try these folks:

Frank & Camille's
371 Old Country Rd
Carle Place, NY 11514
516-333-2811

Good luck to you! thumb

Dennis C.
Piano Store Operator,
Former District Manager,
20 Year Industry Experience

"Tell the truth, honor God, and make money!"
Originally posted by PianoPro:
I'd try these folks:
Frank & Camille's
371 Old Country Rd
Carle Place, NY 11514
516-333-2811