2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
43 members (AlkansBookcase, Bruce Sato, APianistHasNoName, BillS728, bcalvanese, anotherscott, Carey, danno858, 9 invisible), 1,272 guests, and 302 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#347472 08/04/06 02:28 PM
A
aec37 Offline OP
OP Offline
A
Hey, I'm new here and this site is quite nifty.

Anyway, I was concerned when I read that Hanon and Pischna were practically useless and a waste of time. This scared me because these books are the ones I'm studying. Hanon supposedly numbs your brain and doesn't help you develop finger independence. However, what I am looking for in studying these exercises, is to improve my finger agility, speed, strength, and performance. Independence is the least of my issues. So does Hanon and Pischna help you develop agility, speed, strength, and performance? If not, could you please recommend me some books that will help you develop these skills? I also have to add that I regularly study new pieces so I do have examples of "real" music smile

Thanks, hoping to stick a while around here smile

#347473 08/04/06 02:51 PM
8000 Post Club Member
8000 Post Club Member
i have Hanon book and did only 2 exercises there since i got it, but haven't touched it for long time. i don't really miss anything technical, except perhaps scale technique, because except C major scale i don't remember any fingerings of other scales and have to work out fingerings everytime i play some scale passages in a piece i'm learning.