2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
59 members (Adam Reynolds, AlkansBookcase, APianistHasNoName, Carey, brdwyguy, beeboss, Chris B, Cheeeeee, 9 invisible), 1,646 guests, and 254 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
M
OP Offline
M
Hi, any Chopin lover's out there try this one on? was it fairly easy for you? What would you rank the difficulty of it compared to the other etudes? I have been studying it for about 2 months and I find that it requires a lot of endurance, even though it is about the shortest etude in length. Absolutely amazing! I can only play it about 85 percent speed without falling apart.. when I go above that speed I find the left hand jumps just start becoming too innacurate..I obviously didn't realize what I was getting into before I started this one.. smile

Gold Subscriber
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Gold Subscriber
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Meltone1

I find it very helpful while working on an Etude such as this to do the following (now let's see if I can put it into terms that will make sense to you) :

Starting at bar 25, where the LH begins with an octave.

Try first - only for the purpose of practice, of course! - considering the Gflat octave, then the F octave (etc.) as mere grace notes leading to the following three note chords. Strike the octave firmly but lightly and immediately move to the three note chord, landing firmly on the chord - and holding it - as though it were the accented note. Practice any section of the etude where the LH gives you difficulties in this manner.

Then: reverse the process.