2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
48 members (BillS728, anotherscott, AlkansBookcase, Carey, Dfrankjazz, danno858, CharlesXX, bcalvanese, 8 invisible), 2,072 guests, and 303 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
D
DaleH Offline OP
OP Offline
D
I'm an adult beginner and have been studying piano for four years. My library is small: I have a little bit of Bach - the two- and three-part inventions (Alfred edition), the Dover edition of the Well-Tempered Clavier - and a three-ring binder of photocopies of the pieces I've worked on. I'm going to be in New York in a couple of weeks and plan to treat myself to a sheet music shopping spree. What are some other essentials? Is there a standard book for scales, arpeggios, and the like?

Dale

F
F
Are you wanting to stock-up on music in general or only stuff that's around your level?

1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
There are MANY books for scales, arpeggios, and things of the nature...try to find one that's as complete as possible; for instance, with fingerings for scales in 3rds, 4ths, 6ths, etc, and arpeggios in all forms and inversions. These books often include some basic theory things such as the circle of fifths and things like that...not a big deal, of course, but only a poor-quality book would lack those.