2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
65 members (36251, anotherscott, Bellyman, Carey, brennbaer, busa, ChickenBrother, 9 invisible), 2,093 guests, and 310 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
OP Offline
I'm currently working this piece over for an upcoming competition and I would appreciate any helpful hints and comments.

Brahms Rhapsody

This is my first time on the forum and I'm in 8th grade and I'm in my 6th year of piano.

H
6000 Post Club Member
Online Content
6000 Post Club Member
H
For this piece, I would just sit a little bit back from the piano and higher, so that my torso wouldn't block my arms during hand crossovers and also I would get a fuller sound.

Regards,

A
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
A
I would keep a relatively steady rhythm (like Gould, as opposed to Schnabel, for example, if my memory serves, maybe it doesn't, I don't know, steady rhythm anyway, and no tempo changes, unless marked, well probably they are marked if Schnabel obeyed them, well, ignore the markings then, like Gould, that's my humble advice).

There's a clip of Gould playing it over and over at the recording studio. Could someone post a link? I seem to have lost it.

A
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
A
Oh wait, now that I'm playing the Gould in my mind, he probably obeyed those tempo changes too, only not to such extreme as Schnabel... Anyway, Gould's the man with this piece. That's pretty much all I wanted to say.

7000 Post Club Member
7000 Post Club Member