2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
43 members (AlkansBookcase, Bruce Sato, APianistHasNoName, BillS728, bcalvanese, anotherscott, Carey, danno858, 9 invisible), 1,272 guests, and 302 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
6000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
6000 Post Club Member
Hi, all,

I'm a fourth year student, and I've done two recitals a year most years. I also play monthly in group class, and I'll play for family and friends who are willing to listen. I've encountered a problem with my playing, and I hope you can help.

I am consistently inconsistent.

I can have a particular piece all worked up and memorized and thoroughly practiced, and there is just no way I can play the whole thing without a significant number of significant errors. I can usually keep going because my memorization is solid, although occasionally the error is so devastating that I'll have to break tempo or go back and repeat the problem area. This seems to be the case even if my piece is relatively easy, or if I ease up on the tempo.

The frustrating thing is that I can't attribute this to nerves. It happens when I'm alone -- if I tell myself I'm going to record myself playing my piece, I'll still botch something. If someone told me they'd pay me a million dollars if I could play my piece correctly right now, I would not get the check.

Can anyone advise here? I'm starting to think that consistency is just something you're born with and there's no hope here.