2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
59 members (36251, 20/20 Vision, anotherscott, bcalvanese, 1957, 7sheji, Aylin, Barly, accordeur, 8 invisible), 1,424 guests, and 311 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#454942 01/07/05 02:47 PM
kraniak Offline OP
OP Offline
Hope you can help, here's the deal: I've been playing for decades, self-taught, just a handful of lessons over the years, mainly a jazz genre. My ear is very developed and I do a great deal of improvisation. What I need and want is to improve (no, greatly improve) my technical proficiency (I'm quite pathetic in this respect).

It was recommended that I get Hanon's Virtuoso book, which I have, and I've begun working on that. Since I don't sight read, it makes it slow-going to learn the exercises, nevertheless, I'm getting through them. I've also practiced scales till the cows came home but I just can't seem to get the speed and fluency that I want.

Here, on this forum, are monster players of all sorts. Can you lend a helpin' hand and give me the direction I'm looking for?

With great appreciation!

#454943 01/07/05 02:58 PM
8000 Post Club Member
8000 Post Club Member
have you tried to play HS instead of HT first? maybe you could consult Chang's book also on speed.

#454944 01/07/05 03:05 PM
4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member
The exercises in the Hanon book simply repeat the same 5 finger patterns over and over up and down the keyboard - at least at the beginning of the first book - so you don't need to sight read much.