2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
68 members (anotherscott, Bellyman, Carey, brennbaer, busa, Barly, 1957, 13 invisible), 2,012 guests, and 318 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#477419 06/25/01 11:08 AM
M
OP Offline
M
Here's somthing that's been on my mind for quite some time. I'm just a beginner, but I've been playing some pieces that I feel rather emotional about. I've noticed that when I play these pieces the emotions certainly come through in the playing (at least I hope so), but so much so that I tend to make mistakes - i.e. I tend to get too emotionally involved in the piece. This is not necessarily limited to classical music either. I was wondering if this happens to others, or is it just because I'm a beginner. It seems this could be the down side of playing a piece that evoke strong emotions in the player, and that advanced players learn to control these emotions so that it does not interfer with the playing. Any thoughts/opinions on this?

Regards,
Mike

#477420 06/25/01 12:10 PM
Gold Subscriber
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Gold Subscriber
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Hi, Mike.
Good question.