2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
66 members (benkeys, 1200s, aphexdisklavier, akse0435, AlkansBookcase, Alex Hutor, AndyOnThePiano2, amc252, 10 invisible), 1,847 guests, and 273 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
agraffe Offline OP
OP Offline
I am a returning adult piano student currently taking lessons, and in my quest to practice and play more effectively, I am contemplating ordering (from "amazon") a couple of books on technique. They are _The Piano Lessons Book: The piano student's guide for getting the most out of practicing, lessons, your teacher and yourself_ by Neil Miller, and _Improve Your Piano Playing_ by John Meffen. If you have read either or both of these books, could you please let me know in this thread what you thought of them, whether and in what ways they were helpful or failed to be helpful, etc. I'm dazzled by the titles and their promises, but wary, too, for obvious reasons.

Please f

"When life gives you a lemonwood Gaveau [piano], make a place for it (or, what is the same thing, find a wealthy foreign collector/enthusiast to sell it to)." --adapted from and inspired by _The Piano Shop on the Left Bank_ by Thad Carhart
C
C