2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
35 members (beeboss, Animisha, Cominut, brennbaer, crab89, aphexdisklavier, admodios, busa, drumour, Foxtrot3, 3 invisible), 1,277 guests, and 258 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
N
OP Offline
N
Hello, I am an adult piano student hoping to devote more time to playing. I have been checking out the forums for quite a while (year or so) first time posting.

Question on Mendelssohn Rondo capriccioso Opus 14
measure 148 on my score (urtext) shows staccato but not 149, 150 and 151. Should they also be staccato?

also love to play (not that I really love mende, first piece I have tackled)
Chopin
Scriabin
Schumann

thanks for your help

P
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
P
I'm not the familiar piece, but if the notes in those measures (149-151) are in a pattern similar to measure 148, they should most likely be played in the same way unless it is denoted otherwise. Oftentimes I see composers and publishers leave out markings such as this since it's considered to be understood. Of course I don't have the score in front of me, so I could be totally wrong =o)

N
OP Offline
N
Yes, they are in the same pattern. Thanks so much.

6000 Post Club Member
6000 Post Club Member
Nice piece of music.

I've got an old Schirmer edition and meaures 148 - 153 are all marked staccato. 148 and 149 are piano. 150 is crescendo. 152 is forte.
Hope this helps.

Best regards,

Deborah
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member