2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
62 members (BillS728, 36251, anotherscott, Bellyman, Carey, brennbaer, busa, 10 invisible), 2,107 guests, and 300 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
E
1000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
1000 Post Club Member
E
In addition to being a full-time piano technician, I am the rehearsal accompanist for some local high schools...mainly for their musicals, but also some chorus work. Anyone else here play for school musicals? I really enjoy it, and wonder if what other people's experiences are.

Eric Gloo
Piano Technician
Certified Dampp-Chaser Installer
Richfield Springs, New York
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Online Content
While I was teaching math, I was the rehearsal/orchestral pianist for about 25 musicals. It was especially rewarding because I got to know the students and teenagers have an enthusiasm that, I think, is not matched by professionals.

The rest of the orchestra was usually made up of professional musicians which made it especially excting for a non profesional like me.

E
1000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
1000 Post Club Member
E
I agree, the enthusiasm of the teenagers is almost contagious!

Playing for musicals was probably the last thing I thought I'd ever do, but the local high school was starting them up again after about a decade of not doing them. They started with "Oklahoma", and sent out a notice via the school newsletter that they needed people for the orchestra. I called and left a message, but never heard back. About a month before opening night, I checked again, and my message never got to the right person.