2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
29 members (crab89, clothearednincompo, APianistHasNoName, Fried Chicken, CraiginNZ, bwv543, Cominut, 9 invisible), 1,250 guests, and 280 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#516336 12/03/01 09:32 PM
J
Joy Offline OP
500 Post Club Member
OP Offline
500 Post Club Member
J
I attended a lovely holiday pot-luck/piano gathering last night.

Five people performed on the hostess' Petrof grand. As a visual artist, I love the way music annotation can take on its own interesting graphic patterns. The hostess performed Ravel's "Jeux d'eau" (translates as "water play") and I thought the music looked exactly like a long suspension bridge from a distance. Gawd, what an awesome piece -- glissandoes on the BLACK keys, ouch!!! Anyone else familiar with this piece? She managed to play despite a paper cut. Her husband wiped the blood off the piano keys when she was done. What a trooper she was!

Other pieces performed last night included:

Impressoes Seresteriras/Villa Lobos

8 Variations on a Theme from the opera Soliman II / Beethoven

Mazurka and Nocturne "Separation" / Glinka

Passpied / Debussy

Etude #1 from Trois Nouvelles Etudes / Chopin

Northern Flight / Byrne

June Barcarolle, Op. 37 / Tchaikovsky

Poem, Op 32, No. 1 / Scriabin

Barcarolle, Op. 60 / Chopin

Then there was Lasagne with salad and garlic bread.

Served with Dessert:

Joplin: Solace and Heliotrope Bouquet

Silver Bells

Georgia on My Mind (who wrote that???)

-----

Happy Holidays!

Joy

shocked shocked shocked

[ December 03, 2001: Message edited by: Joy ]

#516337 12/04/01 12:36 AM
M