2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
56 members (Animisha, Burkhard, aphexdisklavier, benkeys, 1200s, akse0435, AlkansBookcase, Cheeto717, 12 invisible), 1,880 guests, and 264 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
OP Offline
Can anyone recommend a good recording of this piece? Preferrably from a good label (Deutsche Grammophon and the like). And if it happens to have an SACD release, then all the better!

Thanks a bunch!

M
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
M
I have quite a lot, but my favourite is the Hough recording on Hyperion - purely because I'm a cheapskate student and it has recordings of all the concerti and the Rhapsody on a theme of Paganini. And its very good. Quite nippy though in terms of tempo.

1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
Find Cliburn or Sokolov's. They are my favorite for that piece.

T
TS Offline
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
T
Do a search for Rach 3 recordings on this forum; you'll find a ton of info and recommendations.

1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
LL>MACH3 :rolleyes:

ss ao lr ue dt on si .u dq ar no on ra qd u. is no td eu rl oa ss
T
TS Offline
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
T
lol...LL and Mach3 ride the at the top of the pianists corner yet again.

S
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
S
Volodos on Sony Classical, is quite good, and is available as an sacd

OP Offline
i just got that volodos one. darn it, tower records didn't have an SACD one.

you get these trembles going down your spine everytime that first movement opens up with its haunting melody.

1000 Post Club Member