2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
58 members (AlkansBookcase, Barry_Braksick, BadSanta, danbot3, Animisha, Burkhard, aphexdisklavier, 12 invisible), 1,816 guests, and 281 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#538426 11/04/05 01:55 PM
oceano Offline OP
OP Offline
I've always just volunteered as a accompanist, but now that I am a professional (ie. out of school, and all that), I'm being asked to accompanying by people I don't know, and "what are my rates?"

I don't know what to answer!!!

I don't know what is a good rate, and I don't know if I should charge hourly, or per practice, and I don't know how much performance time I should charge (seeing as in my cases so far, its just two or three songs of the whole concert). I don't want to be cheap, but I also know that, out of personal morals, I don't want to charge these people a ridiculously absurd amount.

One person suggested that I give one set price after knowing what the job would include (ie. practices and performances), but that's kinda hard when the director of a music centre wants to know what I charge for future reference and referrals.

Plus I don't know how much to charge! Please help! How do others deal with their fees for accompanying?

Thanks!

#538427 11/04/05 04:40 PM
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Around here, the consensus is:

Rehearsal time = $35/hour
Plus $40 for the performance

"If we continually try to force a child to do what he is afraid to do, he will become more timid, and will use his brains and energy, not to explore the unknown, but to find ways to avoid the pressures we put on him." (John Holt)