2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
40 members (Doug M., Davidnewmind, Dfrankjazz, brdwyguy, busa, benkeys, Burkhard, David Boyce, 20/20 Vision, 5 invisible), 1,124 guests, and 281 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#542922 11/18/02 04:33 PM
B
OP Offline
B
I don't understand the need for a teacher, but I don't want to influence others' decision, since I still may be wrong. But I have a compelling argument.

I am self-taught. I started learning the piano 3 monhts ago, and I have learned a number of pieces already. I am 29 years old, and practice about 1 hour 3 times a week.

I have a chord reference chart, and have read some books and watched some videos.

How is a teacher different from books and videos. The notes to be played and fingering are already shown on the sheet music where necessary. The books and videos teach me all I need to know and are always there to refer to.

All this argument would be invalid if it didn't work, but for me and my sisters, it works. We just decided we would rather spend the money on materials, so we didn't hire a teacher. If we have questions, we come to a forum like this. But even those, we can find them in books if we read more, but forums also fun.

Books are written by teachers, with everything we need to know to play up to intermediate level. So what can a teacher tell me that I can'f find in books to learn up to intermediate level? My experiences as an adult beginner says, "Nothing!." What do tou think?

"...the luckiest man I know." - Arthur Rubinstein about himself and his love of performing.
#542923 11/18/02 04:48 PM