2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
50 members (Bruce Sato, APianistHasNoName, BillS728, bcalvanese, anotherscott, AlkansBookcase, Carey, CharlesXX, 10 invisible), 1,784 guests, and 302 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
D
Dimitry Offline OP
OP Offline
D
I’ve been playing for 8 years now and have achieved a reasonable level of playing ability however my sight reading has always been poor to non existent. Three years ago I decided to make a real effort to develop the ability to sight read to at least some level as at the time I could barley sight read even a simple melody. I decided I would devote an hour a day to this end as I was anxious about my lack of ability in this area and really quite excited about the prospect of being able to sight read along with the added benefits this would bring in learning repertoire much faster, as my only avenue to this end was and still is one of very laborious and heavy drilling of small fragments of the piece.

Having consulted my teacher I was informed the best, if not only, way to approach this was simply to do it, to read through masses of music and the skill would develop itself. So this I did, I borrowed a large amount of scores from the library and set about for an hour to two hours a day of reading through them. As I had already done quite a considerable amount of theory and analysis as well as being able to play to a reasonable level I was quite hopeful that all the elements were ready to fall into place, as it were, and I would soon seem some results.