2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
27 members (clothearednincompo, crab89, JohnCW, Georg Z., David B, Fried Chicken, AlkansBookcase, 8 invisible), 1,163 guests, and 298 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#564084 10/12/04 07:30 AM
emrys Offline OP
OP Offline
Good morning folks,

I am just learning the above piece of music which is part of the Gr. 8 RCM repetoire.

It has taken me a MONTH of playing hands seperately to get an idea of how each "hand" sounds which is kind of weird considering this piece has 3 voices.

I haven't heard a recording of it yet so I kind of don't know how this piece COULD / SHOULD sound.

Any suggestions would be helpful, especially those geared towards a "beginner-learning-Bach" because that's how I feel.

I think I need an overall picture of how to approach this piece as well as any other Bach piece of music. Learning his music...how to read it, how to think about it, etc. is like seeing a mountain from afar, climbing and reaching one plateau and looking up and realizing that you don't even see the top, even though you know it's there.

I love Bach's music but it's just so daunting.

Are there some websites or books to read on how to approach Bach that are written in layman's language?

Thanks so much for your responses and enjoy the colours of fall.

smile

Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Well I'll be (or D major)! I am learning that too. My first piece really with a teacher (at least for decades). It's tricky isn't it? If it makes you feel any better - it is taking me forever to learn it. Also if it is any consolation, the fugue is easier.