2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
65 members (36251, anotherscott, Bellyman, Carey, brennbaer, busa, ChickenBrother, 9 invisible), 2,093 guests, and 310 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#602749 01/13/02 11:36 PM
A
500 Post Club Member
OP Offline
500 Post Club Member
A
I just discovered these forums, and as an avid pianist, I'm glad I found somewhere to post my Piano discussions!

Being a fan of Chopin, I have a few itchy problems to ask. In the Alfred editions I own, they make some pretty daring declarations, because no other edition I know of state it. They say that his grace notes are played on the beat, and his trills are played starting on the auxillary note, and arpeggios are started on the beat as well. Can anybody tell me if these are really true? I do play them that way, but I'd like to know if it's accurate.

On music like Ravel and Debussy, the slur lines that indicate to let the notes ring, are you supposed to let the notes ring only as far as the slur lines indicate? For example, if the slur lines begin on a note at the start of a measure, and then do not extend over to the next measure, then I could lift up the pedal?

#602750 01/14/02 01:51 PM
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member