2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
68 members (1200s, aphexdisklavier, akse0435, AlkansBookcase, Alex Hutor, AndyOnThePiano2, amc252, accordeur, 11 invisible), 1,801 guests, and 296 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Laura M Offline OP
OP Offline
Newbie here to "pianoworld" and a "renewbie" to the piano world at large. Began taking lessons a few months ago after a 40 year hiatus and am sure glad to be doing so. Rented digital for a few months - until I felt committed to continuing. Recently purchased a 1929 Steinway Upright; $1,500; Model V;48" ht; keys had been replaced; mahogany case in fairly good condition. After 1 month acclimation in my condo, tuner tuned, lubed pins of sticking keys and installed damper.

Unfortunately, several notes (the number is increasing), have begun to "twang". Additionally, action and tone are very uneven.

A reputable PTG performed a thorough evaluation and indicates the poor piano needs all new dampers ("twang" solution), new hammers, lubing all pins, voicing, and regulation with an estimated cost of betw. 4k and 5k., to truly bring piano to its potential.

Caveat: The top 15 treble notes have very short sustain and will remain so after spending big bucks. I had not noticed the "quick decay" of these notes until the technician alerted me.

For me this is big bucks and currently beyond budget, but is doable over time.