2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
62 members (danno858, AlkansBookcase, dbudde, David B, Barry_Braksick, BadSanta, danbot3, 15 invisible), 1,845 guests, and 289 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
K
Keith W Offline OP
OP Offline
K
I have been briefly lurking. I am just learning to play piano, and took an opportunity to pick up a 1920's Lauter baby grand. I always like getting my hands dirty, so I am anticipating learning a lot about pianos with this. I realize I might p-off some piano techs who have practiced their crafts for years, I don't mean to. I just want to "look under the hood" and do what I can to get this in playable shape. We'll see how far I get.

This is what I've noticed so far: the pin block looks sorta like it's been slathered in pin-tite or something -- it seems like there's a film across the entire top of the frame there. The pins in the central range, right around middle-C, have been driven in about 1/4" compared to both ends, and are probably at the end of their travel. Actually, on further examination, a fair number of pins middle to high are hammered pretty much all the way home (the string touches the plate, or is extremely close).

The pin block is made of 5-ply maple (about 3/16" each), with a bottom layer of something else (about 1/2" thick). There are small checks/cracks between some of the pins in the bottom layer of wood, but I don't see anything that clearly says to me "cracked block", though I would probably only know if it were really obvious. I have removed the action and looked from beneath, of course.