2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
66 members (bcalvanese, 36251, brdwyguy, amc252, akse0435, 20/20 Vision, Burkhard, 17 invisible), 2,127 guests, and 321 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
M
OP Offline
M
Hi there,

I am a classical pianist, intermediate to advanced , looking for a digital piano. My previous employer allowed me to practice on their Steinway B, but now I'm on my own piano-wise. I decided on a digital due to cost considerations and also my desire to practice at odd hours with headphones. I am not interested in other bells and whistles, mostly the piano and how realistic it is compared with an acoustic.

I have sampled various digital pianos and have narrowed my choices down to the above.

To me, the Roland HP2 has a very nice sound, but the keyboard touch is too light for my tastes. The Kawai CA5 keyboard touch, with its much-touted wooden keys, seems more authentic, but the sound is less impressive. The Yamaha CLP130 is in between the Kawai and Roland; I'm not too fond of the Yamaha sound, probably because I'm used to the broader, more expressive Steinway sounds.

I was wondering if anyone has tried or owned any of the above pianos and what your thoughts are about their performance, sound and reliability. Thanks very much.

Mark Faix
H
H