2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
24 members (drumour, Foxtrot3, johnesp, Hakki, crab89, EVC2017, clothearednincompo, APianistHasNoName, 7 invisible), 1,221 guests, and 293 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#659943 04/04/08 06:05 PM
T
Thaum Offline OP
OP Offline
T
Hmmm...

15 months ago I started learning on a Yamaha CVP 301. I bought it because I thought it was sufficiently like a real piano in sound and feel.

I've been taking lessons and, compared to a real upright, there are so many subtleties that the 301 does not have such as the rich resonance, and not quite the same feel of the keys. I think, over the last year, my musical 'ear' has also developed.

Last week I took my father to buy a digital piano (he used to play as a kid, and wants to start again now he's seen me having fun!)and he settled for a Yamaha CLP 270

It's got four level sampling like mine, but, my goodness it sounds so much better!

It's got the iAC thingy which seems to transform the sound, and the key action seems, to me, slightly better.

Anyway, the CLP270 seems to be two steps nearer the real thing than my CVP301......

So I'm thinking of upgrading.

My question is, are there other Yamaha models (I don't understand why there are so many model classifications) that are even better than the CLP270?

I'm only interested in the sound and feel of the piano - I'm not bothered at all about shiny finishes, and clever stuff like instrument voices, percussion etc.

Anyone any experiences to compare? All opinions welcome.

Thaum.

#659944 04/04/08 10:10 PM