2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
70 members (AlkansBookcase, AndyOnThePiano2, Charles Cohen, BillS728, 36251, anotherscott, Bellyman, 11 invisible), 2,109 guests, and 312 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
F
OP Offline
F
At one point, I was a middling pianist, but really enjoyed it (mostly Bach). For a while I have been wanting a Clavinova CLP-240 to pick up where I left off, but had not been able to afford one.

Now I finally can, but only just barely! I went to the only local showroom, but prices here in Manhattan are insane and I can't drive elsewhere.

Then I noticed that this particular eBay seller, "RachelMusicInc", consistently sells CLP-240s along with various other brand-new Yamaha digital pianos and other musical instruments. They are offering a NEW CLP-240 for only $2300, which is way cheaper than I will ever get it here in the NYC area.

I am skeptical about buying something this expensive and complex on eBay, but the seller's feedback rating is 99.4% positive, and other people who have bought the same piano gave enthusiastic feedback.

Should I do it? Is there any real reason not to? I am pretty satisfied the seller is legit, but my biggest concern is what if the piano develops technical problems a few months or years down the road. Rachelmusicinc off eBay isn't a licensed Yamaha dealer, I imagine, so I don't expect I'll be getting the thing serviced by them if it develops problems down the line. But will a local seller service it if I didn't buy from them? I just don't want to get stuck with a piece of junk in a year or two.