2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
63 members (AlkansBookcase, Barry_Braksick, danno858, BadSanta, danbot3, Animisha, Burkhard, 14 invisible), 1,836 guests, and 283 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
OP Offline
Hi

I'm an adult beginner (about 7 months) and until now have been using M-Audio Prokeys 88SX.

Now I find the prokeys an excellent keyboard for the price and my stage of development....however I need something that has a more realistic Piano feel as the difference between this and my teachers upright Yamaha Acoustic is affecting my learning. I'm limited on space - and this means I need to move it frequently - so I'm looking for something Sub 20kg.

I've narrowed it down to the two mentioned above....any pluses or minuses to how either of these may or may not work for me would be appreciated.

I'm pretty new to all this.....so the fact that the FP4 has 128 polyphony (compared to 64 for the P140) and yet the Yamaha has 4 layers!!....not sure how all this stuff affects the sound quality etc.

Anyways any help would be really appreciated.

Mark

Your heighness Prince Charles wink
Hi Mark,

The YAMAHA P140 has the Graded Hammer Effect (or GHE) which is Yamaha's second best keyboard and has also:

-AWM, 3-layer Dynamic Stereo Sampling (not 4)
-Key-Off Samples
-Stereo Sustain Samples (open-string effect with sustain pedal)
-Sustain Pedal (Can be used with half pedal effect)
-AUX Pedal (Assignable to various functions)

Specs:

HERE

Information on the terms used:

HERE