2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
60 members (Animisha, aphexdisklavier, benkeys, 1200s, akse0435, AlkansBookcase, Alex Hutor, AndyOnThePiano2, 13 invisible), 1,862 guests, and 258 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#673227 10/07/08 06:31 PM
OP Offline
Hello my fellow Music lovers,
I am from India and a brand new member (just like the yamaha clp-3xx.. lol) on this forum!

well, I am a Singer and a composer (popular music).
I am new to Piano and a beginner student.

I am very confused these days because I am on a lookout for a Piano. and I am very particular about the tone.

now there are various options like Yamaha, kawai or old accoustic uprights in similar range. but new ones (DP's and Accoustics) cost more than double here in my country compared to US or anywhere else!

I tried a yamaha clp-230 (costing $2000 US here) sometime back and I quite liked it. the tone was pretty bright and brilliant. then I saw a video on youtube where some guy, peter baartsman, played clp-230 and then clp-280.. and man I was bowled over by the sound of the 280. but it is not available anywhere because a) it is outdated and b) out here in my country it costs about US $5600 so people rather buy uprights. the new clp-3xx series will be available soon. the clp-340 costing $3650, clp-370 costing $5150! and the flagship clp-380 costing $9000!!! and all these in rosewood or mahogany. not even ebony polished!!! the most basic yamaha accoustic uprights (JU109 made in Indonesia) starts at about $4000!