2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
48 members (AlkansBookcase, Carey, CharlesXX, bcalvanese, colinvda, Adam Reynolds, cascadia, ChickenBrother, CrashTest, 6 invisible), 2,153 guests, and 304 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
C
CJL Offline OP
OP Offline
C
Hello, I'm new to this message board and any advice from what seems like rather knowledgeable members here would be much appreciated. I'm also new to the digital piano experience and I'm looking to buy my first one in the next few days.

I was trained classically and have been playing for almost 19 years. While nothing beats a real piano (the Steinway in my professor's studio in college is still the best piano I've ever played on...-sigh-), I'm going digital because I live in an apartment and can't really afford anything over $3000. Different shops in my area carry different brands...but basically my decision is now coming down to a Kawai CA9 or a Roland HP-2 (for some reason, I'm just not so crazy about the Yamahas). It's been hard to choose between the two. To me, the wooden keys of the Kawai CA9 feel great...better than the Roland, imo. The Roland touch is just a wee bit light for me, even on the heaviest touch setting (but hey, it makes for easier expressivity)...but I think the Roland has a better sampled sound (supposedly from Steinways) and better pedaling. They're both identical in price. Yeah, there are different bells and whistles between the two but that's kind of secondary in my consideration.