2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
65 members (brennbaer, accordeur, antune, Colin Miles, anotherscott, AndyOnThePiano2, benkeys, 11 invisible), 1,823 guests, and 309 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
T
OP Offline
T
I just started playing the piano this year . . . I notice that most pianists began playing in/before grade school. . . I would be interested in finding out the age you all started to play and how long you all have been playing. Feedback will be appreciated.

D
D
Fear Not!!! I have known many people who started piano lessons as an adult and are now able to play quite wonderfully. I can promise you one thing: If you take the time to learn piano, you will never regret it!

The key to learning the piano is:

1. Practice at least 30 minutes every day. The reason that most people (including kids) fail or get discouraged is they are not consistent with their practicing. Even the great pianists find time in each day to practice. Liberace once said,"If I miss one practice, I know it. If I miss two, my critics notice. If I miss three, the audience knows it!"

2. Keep yourself interested by constantly putting new music in front of you. This will keep you from getting bored. Don't over-extend yourself by trying to learn music way above your level. You will find a good sheet music store will keep many levels of sheet music in stock.
There should be songs that you like at whatever level you are at, beginner or advanced.