2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
21 members (cmoody31, dh371, Fried Chicken, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, admodios, clothearednincompo, crab89, 5 invisible), 1,234 guests, and 304 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
O
OP Offline
O
Hi! I've spent the last few days browsing through this forum, and it's a fantastic resource. However, I do have a couple questions that I don't think have been addressed in previous posts (although, if I missed something, please point me in the right direction).

Background: I'm a poor college student living off investments. I'll be graduating in May (finally) with a real job already lined up. I played piano when I was a kid (5 or so years) on a quality acoustic upright. I have some time my Senior year, and I want to start playing again! So, I'm looking for something to use in my cruddy apartment. Note: I'm not an audiophile -- I don't mind using $15 headphones. (Yes, I know that makes you cringe).

It seems that the consensus for people on a budget is the Casio PX-100 at ~$500. Here are my three questions:

1.) Is there a "next step up" that's less than a 50% price increase? If I'm shelling out $500, I don't want to pay $750 or more. But if there's something that requires only a 20% increase and the quality is exceptionally better -- please let me know! (A cursory glance at other posts revealed $750 options, but not much less).