2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
69 members (20/20 Vision, clothearednincompo, Colin Miles, bcalvanese, booms, 36251, Bruce Sato, Carey, AlkansBookcase, 9 invisible), 1,941 guests, and 259 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
G
Geof175 Offline OP
OP Offline
G
Hello,

I'm new to digital pianos and audio recording.

I have a Roland HP103e DP (cabinet) mainly used (99%) with the main Grand Piano sound.

I think the sound is ok but not great.

Same feeling for the action, ok but not great.

I'm not an accomplished piano player, so I won't consider my opinion as relevant for others.

I would like to improve the piano sound by using external Hifi/Active Monitor speakers (around 500$).

My first question is : Does that make any sense to you or do you think I won't hear a significative sound improvement.

Moreover, I'm wondering if switching from a HP103 to a top of the line (RD-700GX, MP8ii) is an interesting solution to get better action and sound.

After reading a lot of posts about stage pianos, I know some strengths and weaknesses of the 700GX and MP8 but don't know how they compare to
a low/mid range cabinet DP like the HP103.

I'm nor interested in the portablility (stage) neither in the design (cabinet). I'm interested in getting better action/piano sound with a budget of around 2000$ (+ speakers).

Should I stay with my low/mid range HP103 or should I consider switching to a top of the line stage piano ?

Can anyone share its experience and help me to understand this ?

PS : No DP retail store here, so I can't try the different models.

Regards.

Geof

S
SSB Offline
S