2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
27 members (clothearednincompo, crab89, JohnCW, Georg Z., David B, Fried Chicken, AlkansBookcase, 8 invisible), 1,163 guests, and 298 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
M
OP Offline
M
Hi,

I'm a beginner at piano and have just been learning myself the last couple of months on an inadequate 49-syth-mini-key keyboard. I've decided to take the plunge and buy a digital piano and would just like to see if anyone had any comments about the one I am planning to order. I'm wanting to learn to play classical music.

I've chosen to go with the Yamaha YDP 131:
http://music.yamaha.com/products/specifications.html?productId=844

This costs around £500/$1000, which is the high end of my budget. I tried it for 20 minutes in a local shop and found it better than the Casio's and Kawai's on offer for around the same price. I've never played on an acoustic before (or really heard one in the same room to be honest), but I liked the feel of the keys, it sounded good when the salesperson played it, it sounded good when I played it (I don't play well though) and the demo songs sounded as good as the CDs I listen too. I had the sales person play on one of the very expensive Clarinovas and I honestly didn't hear much in the way of a difference.

Important features:
- 88 graded hammer action keys
- 64 polyphony
- 3 pedals

Possible cons:
- I've read a comment that it has weak 6 watt x 2 speakers, but it sounded pretty loud to me on high.
- I don't think it has graduated pedals as I'd think this would be explicit ally advertised as such (will this make a huge impact?).