Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
the Forums & Piano World

This custom search works much better than the built in one and allows searching older posts.
(ad 125) Sweetwater - Digital Keyboards & Other Gear
Digital Pianos at Sweetwater
(ad) Pearl River
Pearl River Pianos
(ad) Pianoteq
Latest Pianoteq add-on instrument: U4 upright piano
(ad) P B Guide
Acoustic & Digital Piano Guide
PianoSupplies.com (150)
Piano Accessories Music Related Gifts Piano Tuning Equipment Piano Moving Equipment
We now offer Gift Certificates in our online store!
(ad) Estonia Piano
Estonia Piano
Quick Links to Useful Stuff
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers
*Organs

Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano Accessories
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Piano Books
*Piano Art, Pictures, & Posters
*Directory/Site Map
*Contest
*Links
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Screen Saver
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords
Topic Options
#693278 - 08/02/04 06:19 AM Roland KR-7 chord sequencing
RobFreundlich Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 08/02/04
Posts: 4
Loc: Boston, MA, USA
I recently purchased a Roland KR-7, and overall, I am happy, if not ecstatic, with it. I have some questions, though, about chord sequencing:

When I use the Arranger or Session Partner, I'd like to have the accompaniment cycle through a chord sequence of my own choosing. In Arranger, I can have it follow me (by pressing a key on the lower half of the keyboard, I can have it switch to that chord). That's great, except I have to remember to press a key when I want to switch chords!

In Session Partner, it will cycle through predefined chord sequences (and even show me what's coming up next!), and I can also put it into "manual" mode where it behaves like Arranger. But what if I want my own sequence?

For example, I'd like to give Arranger a standard twelve-bar blues sequence and have it just start playing accompaniment in that sequence (over and over until I stop it), as though I were hitting the appropriate keys for the chord changes, but without my having to do so. Then I could focus on what I'm playing instead of half-focusing on telling the piano what chords I want.

Is there any way to do this?

I tried faking this out by entering a twelve-bar blues sequence in the chord sequencer and then copying those bars a whole bunch of times, effectively creating a score whose sole component was the chord sequence. Then if I use the digiscore recorder/playback feature, I can sort of get what I want. But there are problems with that.

  • First, if I copy the 12 bars 20 times, I get 20 cycles through and then I'm done. I couldn't find any kind of auto-repeat or anything like that. Did I miss something? *IS* there an auto-repeat in digi-score playback?
  • Second, if I want to change the sequence, I have to start all over again - I couldn't find a way to edit the chord sequence! The editor provides editing of individual notes, but as far as I can tell, does not permit changing the underlying chords. Again, have I missed something?



It feels overall like I've missed something big. There's this chord sequencer, and there's this Arranger that can follow a sequence. But there doesn't seem to be any way to tell the Arranger to follow the sequencer's sequence!

Any help will be *very* appreciated!

Top
(ads) Sweetwater / Roland
The Right Mic Makes all the Difference. Piano Mics at Sweetwater

Click Here


#693279 - 08/08/04 07:51 AM Re: Roland KR-7 chord sequencing
DeAntonio Offline
Full Member

Registered: 01/28/04
Posts: 53
Loc: United Kingdon
I don't use the arrrnager feature much now on my roalnd KR-577, but have you tried using the Copy sequencer to Composer (or something like that). What you do is create a sequence in the 16 track Sequencer (not chord sequencer) then you copy it to composer/Chord etc, so everything you here is your own original composition.

I understand you can take midi files and copy thoese too. I'll have to get the manual out you know:)

Antonio

Top
#693280 - 08/09/04 05:56 AM Re: Roland KR-7 chord sequencing
RobFreundlich Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 08/02/04
Posts: 4
Loc: Boston, MA, USA
 Quote:
Originally posted by DeAntonio:
I don't use the arrrnager feature much now on my roalnd KR-577, but have you tried using the Copy sequencer to Composer (or something like that). What you do is create a sequence in the 16 track Sequencer (not chord sequencer) then you copy it to composer/Chord etc, so everything you here is your own original composition.
[/b]
My target is Arranger or Session Partner, not Composer. If I understand you correctly, you're describing what I already tried (except for the source of the chord sequence):

 Quote:

From my original post...

I tried faking this out by entering a twelve-bar blues sequence in the chord sequencer and then copying those bars a whole bunch of times, effectively creating a score whose sole component was the chord sequence. Then if I use the digiscore recorder/playback feature, I can sort of get what I want. But there are problems with that.
[/b]
But I'll give your suggesting a try this evening, and see if it puts the sequence into Arranger or Session Partner as well.

Top
#693281 - 08/18/04 08:17 AM Re: Roland KR-7 chord sequencing
RobFreundlich Offline
Junior Member

Registered: 08/02/04
Posts: 4
Loc: Boston, MA, USA
 Quote:
Originally posted by RobFreundlich:
 Quote:
Originally posted by DeAntonio:
I don't use the arrrnager feature much now on my roalnd KR-577, but have you tried using the Copy sequencer to Composer (or something like that). What you do is create a sequence in the 16 track Sequencer (not chord sequencer) then you copy it to composer/Chord etc, so everything you here is your own original composition.
[/b]
My target is Arranger or Session Partner, not Composer. If I understand you correctly, you're describing what I already tried (except for the source of the chord sequence):

 Quote:

From my original post...

I tried faking this out by entering a twelve-bar blues sequence in the chord sequencer and then copying those bars a whole bunch of times, effectively creating a score whose sole component was the chord sequence. Then if I use the digiscore recorder/playback feature, I can sort of get what I want. But there are problems with that.
[/b]
But I'll give your suggesting a try this evening, and see if it puts the sequence into Arranger or Session Partner as well. [/b]
I couldn't find a way to create a sequence in the 16-track sequencer, other than playing the chords myself. That runs counter to my goal of having the piano produce the accompaniment (as opposed to playing back my own).

I did discover that I can set up a sequence in the chord sequencer and then use the "Marker" function to have it repeat when I use Composer. That almost does what I want, but not quite - I'm still looking for a way to use the sequence in Arranger and/or Session Performer.

Top

Moderator:  Piano World 
What's Hot!!
HOW TO POST PICTURES on the Piano Forums
-------------------
Sharing is Caring!
About the Buttons
-------------------
Forums Rules & Help
-------------------
ADVERTISE
on Piano World

The world's most popular piano web site.
-------------------
PIANO BOOKS
Interesting books about the piano, pianists, piano history, biographies, memoirs and more!
(ad) HAILUN Pianos
Hailun Pianos - Click for More
ad (Casio)
Celviano by Casio Rebate
Ad (Seiler/Knabe)
Knabe Pianos
Sheet Music
(PW is an affiliate)
Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale
(125ad) Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad) Lindeblad Piano
Lindeblad Piano Restoration
New Topics - Multiple Forums
I can only Trill well on good grand pianos....
by Paul678
09/22/14 11:48 PM
Is Bondfix just as good as Hotstuff CA glue?
by Paul678
09/22/14 10:42 PM
What's up with Paulello?
by jim ialeggio
09/22/14 10:13 PM
Kawai RX-2 and RX-2 BLAK
by myip
09/22/14 08:15 PM
UVi Grand Piano, cant get the MIDI Files help?
by JungleJim
09/22/14 06:23 PM
Who's Online
102 registered (ando, Anne'sson, AZ_Astro, AEMontoya, antony, 31 invisible), 1221 Guests and 15 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
76290 Members
42 Forums
157700 Topics
2316377 Posts

Max Online: 15252 @ 03/21/10 11:39 PM
(ads by Google)

Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers

 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
|
Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World | Donate | Link to Us | Classifieds |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter | Press Room |


copyright 1997 - 2014 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission