2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
60 members (danno858, BadSanta, danbot3, Animisha, Burkhard, aphexdisklavier, benkeys, 11 invisible), 1,830 guests, and 265 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
S
OP Offline
S
Hi,

I have found 3 kinds of pianos that I have narrowed my search to, all brand new. I have been playing for about 6 months and I'm looking to upgrade to a new grand. Here's how I see it:

1.Yamaha GB1 Baby Grand 4'11" $8600
Pros: Yamaha, resale, happy owners
Cons: Size, last 4 bass strings are cloudy in sound, cost

Kawai GE-20 Baby Grand 5'1" $9500
Pros: Duplex scaling, soft fall fallboard
Cons: More than a GB1

Story and Clark 185 6' High 8K-Low 9K
Pros: Length, duplex scaling
Cons: Cheaper matterial, sound?

What does everybody think? Has anybody tried the Story & Clark. I haven't had the chance, but I heard the action is very similar to a Kawai. Also, at 6', it must produce decent bass...but how about the tonal quality in comparison to the Yamaha and Kawai?

What is the best deal? Thanks!

C
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
C
Kawai, of the three listed
Quality and best sound of the three.
That Yamaha sound can get old fast