2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
27 members (clothearednincompo, crab89, JohnCW, Georg Z., David B, Fried Chicken, AlkansBookcase, 8 invisible), 1,163 guests, and 298 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
S
OP Offline
S
Hi, all, i need your professional advice.

I am a beginner of piano living in HK and I would like to buy my first piano. Due to room size and budget limit, I can only think of Upright pianos. Right now, I have 2 choices, both are pretty new 2nd hand (actually, they are displayed items). One is Yamaha U3 and one is Kawai US50.

The price for Yamaha U3 is around US$2810 and Kawai is around US$3575. I have tried both, I found that the sound of Kawai is louder and sharper. The salesman said the style of Kawai US50 looks like a grand piano and the materials used are far more better than Yamaha U3. However, as he is too "hard sell" on Kawai and personally, i like the brand name of Yamaha more, so I really don't know which one is better.

Does anyone have tried these two before?? Could anyone tell me more about Yamaha or Kawai?

Thanks a lot !!
smile

S
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
S
His claim about the materials being much better in the Kawai is nonsense. The pianos are of comparable quality. If they are both of similar age and condition I would go with the Yamaha because of the price differential and the fact that the U3 is 52" high while I beleive the Kawai is only 49" high.

Piano Industry Consultant

Co-author (with Larry Fine) of Practical Piano Valuation
www.jasonsmc@msn.com

Contributing Editor & Consultant - Acoustic & Digital Piano Buyer