2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
36 members (bwv543, Cominut, Colin Miles, Andre Fadel, BWV846, Animisha, alexcomoda, Calavera, 10 invisible), 1,197 guests, and 278 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
P
OP Offline
P
Hello. I am an adult beginner, looking for a piano for the home and am in need of advice. After two months of shopping, I have narrowed down my choices to the following:

1). 2003 Wurlitzer Baby Grand. 5'4" Like new, barely used but kept tuned. Sounded fine to me (but then, I'm a beginner). To buy, move and tune it, the price is $4200. No warranty.

2). 2007 Yamaha P22. 45" studio. Used for 1 year at the local university. The price to buy, move and tune it is $4700. 10 year warranty with trade in value of $4195 within 10 years.

Both of these choices are at the VERY top of our budget.

So, if you were a beginner, which would you choose and why? I appreciate all advice.

Thank you for your time.

1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
Did you like one more than another? You will be listening and playing it, what may matter most once you are satisfied on condition and price, is how you like it.

How much practicing a day/or week do you anticipate? The P22 has a reputation for being a workhorse but then most people recommend a grand for greater dynamic control and faster repetitions but at the beginner level you might not notice...

What are the model number and serial number on the Wurlitzer? I am not seeing a 5'4" piano on the Gibson website-- could it be a discontinued length?