2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
71 members (Charles Cohen, AlkansBookcase, 36251, benkeys, 20/20 Vision, bcalvanese, booms, Bruce Sato, Carey, 10 invisible), 1,930 guests, and 264 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 13 1 2 3 12 13
#930917 05/19/08 02:00 PM
E
Elise_B Offline OP
OP Offline
E
I have been reading this forum for a couple of weeks and I find it to be very informative. Most interesting to me are the different teaching methods discussed and the styles of the teachers who post. I am a piano student in my fifth year. While I very much enjoy music and playing, I absolutely detest my lessons. My teacher is incredibly strict and very demanding. I have been with him for all my studies so I have never experienced other teaching styles.. but i do think he has gotten worse over time. He is very inflexible: everything from no chewing gum and cut-off shorts in his studio down to ridiculously long practice requirements even during my finals.. I admit that he has taught me a lot and in fact, sometimes (not often) I am myself kind of proud of what I can do.. but at a price.. This teacher's method is all about scolding and "punishments".. scale away if you miss practice (not that I would ever dare show up without practice.. but he can always tell if I practiced 55 minutes and not 60 a day..) Is the good teaching result worth the terrifying lessons? To complicate things, this teacher is a very good friend of my family (my older brother is a very accomplished pianist and thinks the world of this teacher) and I don't think I stand a chance of changing him.. I once did not show up for