2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
49 members (36251, Bostonmoores, 20/20 Vision, Cheeeeee, Adam Reynolds, Burkhard, 1200s, clothearednincompo, akse0435, busa, 5 invisible), 1,303 guests, and 295 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#933466 12/06/07 03:52 PM
W
OP Offline
W
..How do you give a new students first lesson. What do you cover?..etc.. Im having a hard time thinking of a way to start it off for a total beginner.

Thanks for your much needed help!

#933467 12/06/07 04:25 PM
B
4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member
B
What comes first in thinking about the piano?

What comes first in accessing the piano with the body?

What do we have to know as information?

From the perspective of the absolute beginner - an orientation to the fingers, keyboard, and alphabet.

Start with long notes values moving to shorter note values - limit the playing area to keep an introductory location on the piano - don't go distance and big intervals.

Conjunct movement comes before disjunct movement.

Be well prepared by looking through the methods and finding out what you think is the first and logical steps.

How old is the student? How is the attention span? What do you have to do to get and keep their interest.

Choose short, simple songs at first.

Keep a steady beat above all.

You can't "wing" this part, you have to be "knowing" and informed. The first teacher is the most important teacher. Be that teacher.

Search on: first lesson, beginner, and any other word which comes to mind, and read the archives. Search button is at top under new topic. Try Piano Teacher's Forum first.

Betty