2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
63 members (AndyOnThePiano2, benkeys, brennbaer, APianistHasNoName, AlkansBookcase, Charles Cohen, BillS728, 12 invisible), 1,897 guests, and 327 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
T
Tavner Offline OP
OP Offline
T
I know this is a perennial topic that most teachers face. What are your various techniques, psychological ploys, inducements, etc. for getting your students to practice consistently? I've only been teaching for a relatively short time so I am still learning what works and what doesn't.

I've found that sometimes switching lesson/technique/performance and even theory books helps to increase practice time with some students. But, some students do not respond at all to a change in "scenery". Also, having a chat with the parents about practicing consistently ("Johnny/Susie can find at least 30 minutes a day to practice, can't they?") often helps. Finally, setting a date for a recital program usually makes the student put in the practice time needed to play a piece adequately. Afterwards, I struggle with the tendency to backslide to former habits.