2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
56 members (bcalvanese, 1957, 7sheji, Aylin, Barly, accordeur, 36251, 20/20 Vision, Adam Reynolds, 8 invisible), 1,401 guests, and 308 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
4000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
4000 Post Club Member
There was a recent reply that mentioned using the lesson time to practice.

I am not sure if this subject has been explored already, but I thought it might warrant a new thread. As a teacher, I often would take at least one lesson a year to just teach a student (young or older, beginner or advanced) just how to practice.

I felt it was important enough to spend time on. Many students say that they practice, but do they spend time wisely? Do they bluff it? Watching them do what they do, and giving suggestions, often gives them descipline and the mind focus on what they need to do.

Of course in most all lessons, something was suggested on 'how to practice' whatever was needed, but it still didn't address the whole issue and see what each student really does when they 'practice'.

Often these lesson times were 'make up' lessons.

As well, although I didn't participate in the theory thread, I would take time as a complete lesson to 'catch' up or 'advance' some theory but that was often more than once a year.

What are your thoughts, teachers?

"Music gives a soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and life to everything."
B
4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member
B