2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
29 members (crab89, clothearednincompo, APianistHasNoName, Fried Chicken, CraiginNZ, bwv543, Cominut, 9 invisible), 1,250 guests, and 280 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#944343 05/21/06 11:34 PM
OP Offline
I'm a newb working through Teach Yourself To Play Piano. I contacted a teacher today, and she told me she uses the Russian style of teaching. I can't really find out much about this. I've also heard of the Suzuki method, but from what I could find, it sounds like that is more geared towards small children.

How many major types of teaching methods are there? Are some better suited for adults than others? What is the most popular or most common?

#944344 05/22/06 10:35 AM
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
Some of it depends on the styles your interested in learning or what you want to gain out of learning piano.

I've heard nothing but good things about Russian teaching. I assume it's geared toward classical training.

I don't know enough about the Suzuki method except bits and pieces from teachers I've read in other threads on this forum.

Then method books like, Alfred's, Bastein, Faber and Faber don't seem to have a huge difference betweeen them in teaching approach so if choosing one of these, I would choose the method with the music that most appeals to you.