2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
30 members (crab89, CraiginNZ, bwv543, Cominut, Colin Miles, Andre Fadel, BWV846, 10 invisible), 1,234 guests, and 281 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
OP Offline
This is my first message on the forum. I am hoping people who have taken lessons for many years can give me the benefit of their experience.

My problem is that I cannot tell if the teacher I have is normal because I have not had many lessons. But I am not a beginner, and I have many recital programs ready to go. I taught myself pretty quickly at a young age and have been performing regularly since (I am now middle aged).

At this late age, I heard from a friend about a great teacher and I thought the time had come for me to "go legit" and get serious about studying the piano. I started with this teacher and felt it was a revelation. Yes, this experienced, effective, gifted teacher could get me ready to do the Chopin competition in Warsaw (if I were 20, which I am not!). My playing improved immediately, and has continued to improve with each lesson in very obvious ways.

Okay, why am I writing this message if this teacher is great? This teacher is one of the most negative people I have ever met, and it is starting to make me uncomfortable. Every minute of every session is based on cutting down other players, other teachers, other methods. This method is the ONLY true method. The way the teacher presents wonderful ideas is by going into how everyone else does it wrong, how even the great concert pianists are clueless, how nobody knows how to do it right.