2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
46 members (Cominut, Burkhard, 1200s, clothearednincompo, akse0435, busa, 36251, Davidnewmind, Dfrankjazz, 5 invisible), 1,240 guests, and 259 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#953199 09/11/07 06:03 PM
C
Corinne Offline OP
OP Offline
C
Hello teachers!
I'm a fairly new piano teacher, and this winter will be my first time giving a recital during the holidays. I live in a very religious community and all my students are from Christian-based faiths.
I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions as to putting together my winter recital. I want some Christmas music, but don't think it shoud be exclusively Christmas, since that is not what my students have worked hard on all year long.
So do I have all holiday music at the end? Or mix it in? Or have only some students play holiday, but not all?
Any suggestions?

#953200 09/11/07 06:41 PM
7000 Post Club Member
7000 Post Club Member
Hi Corinne,

Welcome on board. I understand that St George is a most beautiful part Utah and the west. How fortunate for you!

Am I assuming correctly that you are talking about a studio recital for your students? And that it would be prior to Christmas?

For years, I held one in mid-December with reception following. Always successful. I started the students on Christmas music, mostly carols, in early November, so that they could play two pieces for their parents. If they didn't have two carols down, I let them play something from their regular studies.