2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
60 members (20/20 Vision, 36251, anotherscott, bcalvanese, 1957, beeboss, 7sheji, Aylin, Barly, 10 invisible), 1,461 guests, and 299 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
C
OP Offline
C
I guess you can say I'm an adult beginner. I played piano for 2-3 years when I was in elementary school. I stopped playing piano in order to focus on the saxophone, which I played up until college. I took long break from playing anything during college, but I decided to start taking piano lessons after I graduated, and it's almost been a year since I started. I practice every day from anywhere from 15 minutes to 2-3 hours.

I want to eventually try my hand at teaching. I would only want to teach students who are completely new to music. I'm pretty comfortable with reading music, so I know could at least teach them how to read notes and interpret dynamics.

What else do I need to do/learn to be able to be at least a competent teacher if not a decent one?

There are many interesting threads if you do a search on teaching qualifications or beginning teachers that you might find interesting. This subject tends to get me very opinionated, so my goal is not to offend but to be realistic. I think I'm going to leave a long, explanation of what experience and qualifications a good teacher should have to someone else and just make a few points.

1. What do you mean by eventually? If you consider yourself an adult beginner, you should not be trying to teach anyone. Teachers should be well trained, advanced players.